The McDonald’s Do Dallas

Standard
Dad's high school graduation

Dad’s high school graduation

I had the pleasure last week of having my mom visit me for a few days. Last Wednesday actually would have been my dad’s 76th birthday and I didn’t want Mom to spend it alone.

While she was here, I got to play tour guide and tourist. Last Thursday, we took the Dallas Trolley Tour and I actually learned about the city I reside in. We covered a lot of ground in our 75 minute tour– we drove over the Margaret Hunt Hill bridge, saw the steers in Pioneer Plaza, and found out where the infamous Clyde Barrow worked at a candy shop in the West End. After our trolley tour, we made the mile trek over to the newly opened Klyde Warren Park which sits atop Hwy 75.We indulged in lunch from one of the food trucks set up at the park and just enjoyed the beautiful March weather. I had been wanting to visit the park and eat from a food truck for a while now, so I finally could cross those off my bucket list. It was really pretty exciting to see all the cool places that have shaped Dallas history, even the site of JFK’s 1963 assassination.

That evening, we attended a WomeninFilm.Dallas screening of Women In Film and Television International Showcase, a compilation

Pioneer Plaza

Pioneer Plaza

of short films commemorating International Women’s Day. There were short films from all over the world, including Dallas, the director and producer of which were on hand to talk about their film after the showcase was over. They shared the ups and downs of producing their short but you could tell it was something they really loved.

Mom & I at the screening

Mom & I at the screening

Friday afternoon, was equally as exciting. Mom and I went to see Oz The Great and Powerful. The Wizard of Oz is one of my all time favorite movies so I had pretty high expectations of the new Oz and it really lived up to them. The movie was just really cool and very well cast. Of course, the magic really came to life when Oz stepped into the new world of Oz and the colors on the plants and objects really just popped!

The rest of the weekend was just spent hanging out and catching up. It makes me sad that my dad is gone but I’m thankful I still have my mom and we can continue to make memories together…

Leave a comment