Third Thursday Breakfast

Standard

The only thing better than breakfast, is breakfast with a purpose– networking. I’ve found that one of the best ways to get jobs in film/tv production is by getting out there and networking. So this morning I had the opportunity to attend the Dallas Producer’s Association 3rd Thursday Breakfast Club (3TBC) at the Dallas’ Garden Cafe. (By the way, the purpose of the DPA is to provide promotion, advocacy, education and networking for it’s membership.)

Last night and this morning I experienced brief moments of anxiety thinking about having to talk to strangers (remember your mother always telling you NOT to talk to strangers) but I figured I had nothing to lose and more to gain by going. This was my second time to attend the 3TBC and just as before I felt very welcome and comfortable. The DPA Vice President & Membership Chair, Will Raymond, is terrific at introducing himself to people and making them feel welcome. There were also a few DPA members that I’ve met before at other events so it seems that my anxiety was unfounded. 🙂 

About Garden Cafe: if you haven’t experienced this place yet, you’re missing out! They aren’t open for dinner so you might have to plan ahead and go before work or on a weekend but it’s sooo worth it. They have an outdoor patio you can take advantage of in nice weather. The patio is surrounded by a garden and a variety of other plants. They even have a chicken coop so they have fresh eggs for their breakfast dishes!

I’m looking forward to the next DPA event; hope it’s tasty!

Leave a comment